PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone

rachelg
26-06-08, 11:03
Hi - I'm a newbie and am so glad to have found this great forum. I've been doing lots and lots of googling lately and have become rather stressed about my condition. Basically, I have a very tender left breast and a sore spot on my rib (where the bra strap goes under the cup). I went to the GP and she examined me and couldn't find any lumps - she said that breast cancer doesn't hurt and is usually a small, hard lump. But.... she also said "better safe than sorry - so come back in 2 weeks if you've still got the pain" Of course, I think the worst and can not wait 2 weeks so I've booked in for a private breast assessment/mammogram with BUPA on Monday. I have suffered from costochonditris in the past - when I was pregnant, but this pain is different - it doesn't hurt more when I breathe in. I am constantly thinking about it and fearing the worst. Has anyone else suffered my symptoms also? Any advice would be really appreciated and will stop my cracking up. Many thanks.

kellie
26-06-08, 11:18
Hiya hun :welcome: to nmp its great to have you here :yesyes:
You will get lots of support/advice/reasurance and make some great friends along the way. you dont mention your age so im not sure how to reply about the breast prob but, it can be down to a number of things to do with hormanones ( bad spelling sorry) as we get older, or the pill/coil/periods. Now pain in the ribs (left or right) i can relate to and thats normaly down to tight tense muscels in that area. its almost like a tender/bruised spot or can be a sharp/crushing pain when breathing is to heavy. Stop googleing and try not to worry to much. keep posting and let us know how thing go at bupa

take care. :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

kellie.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

rachelg
26-06-08, 11:34