PDA

View Full Version : Invasive thoughts - help please

Scorpion
06-07-08, 16:10
Hi all,

I am newbie, been trawling the web trying to find some help and I hope this is the right place ?

My problem is mainly one of invasive thoughts, I have tried everything to switch them off but cannot find a technique. It is torture and ruins my family life.

My background is briefly this. In times of severe stress these thoughts arrive just as if a switch has been flicked. I am a Project Manager and have just joined a new company, I have been given a poison chalice of a project due to the resignation of a colleague and I am feeling severe stress. These invasive thoughts are either catastrophic fantasy or just 'what should I do to resolve the situation', but always relating to my work. On the one hand it is as if I need to have these thoughts to be in control but I hate them, they take control of my entire time away from work, they are my last thoughts at night and my first thoughts in the morning. My family seem to just hover around my periphery, I do not hear what they say or acknowledge they are there.

I know my work problems are not self inflicted as I did not create them, I just picked them up. I also know I would work 24h day to resolve them. I also know that it is my family that suffers when I have to deal with work problems, I guess I feel the stress because I do not want to hurt them.

I have read many self help books and tried many techniques but cannot find a solution I can turn on reasonably quickly. I have been in this situation before but bizarrely cannot think how to overcome the problem other than to ride it out over many weeks.