PDA

View Full Version : Anyone experience Anx. relapse really really suddenly?

aurora
14-07-08, 22:43
Hi Everyone,

Wondering if anyone has had the experience of relapsing into severe anxiety symptoms after months of being OK? I've pretty much been fine since March when I finally accepted I wasn't dying of 1000 horrible diseases following many doctor appointments and tests. My acute anxiety first started at the beginning of last August, the day after I graduated from school and officially became unemployed. Now, out of the blue, all the symptoms are back in full force. I think I know why-- I'm getting married in a month, almost to the day, but I don't consciously feel that stressed about it! How can symptoms come back this bad and this suddenly when I don't feel that stressed?? Was not expecting this and am feeling very discouraged....

nomorepanic
14-07-08, 22:54
Yes I did about 4 weeks ago.

I had been panic free for well over a year and wham it all came back and hit me really hard.

I had to go back to basics with relaxation, breathing etc and I am just coming out the other side again

Bill
15-07-08, 03:03
I think what has happened is a symptom of "change". When you graduated, you left the security you felt at school. Now that you'll be marrying in a months time, you're now facing another change which is again affecting your sense of security even though it's something you're looking forward to.

After the wedding, your life should settle, you'll feel secure again and so your anxiety should ease.:hugs:

aurora
15-07-08, 03:26
Thanks Bill and Nicola for the encouragement. It's nice to know I'm not alone. Bill, I think you're right. This must just be my horrible way of dealing with big changes.

pooh
15-07-08, 08:20
HI aurora,
I think there does always tend to be trigger for the first and subsequent relapses into panic mode.