PDA

View Full Version : Hello All

jcapson
16-07-08, 17:38
I am a 30 year old wife of 5 years, a mother of 2 and I suffer from anxiety, panic and mild depression. I can't tell you when it started as I have very mild symptoms as far back as I can remember. But I can tell you that in the last 6 months is when it came full force. In feb. I went back to work after maternity leave with my youngest (17 mo now) and I had a horrible time adjusting. My husband had been let go from his job 2 months prior and still hadn't been able to find something (hasn't until now) so atleast he was home with our kids (daughter is 4 yrs now). I was having pain in my chest, dizziness and shortness of breath. I finally broke down to my husband and he said I needed to go to our dr. I went a month ago and he believes I have a chemical imbalance that is causing the anxiety/panic attacks and the mild depression. He put me on Paxil and told me to come back in a month (this afternoon). I have been better this month but I still don't feel normal.

marie1974
16-07-08, 17:46
hiya and welcome to nmp, u will get so much help and advice here and people are so very genuine, you will make new friends too. keep posting and we will do our best to help u hugs xx

DeeperDown
16-07-08, 17:49
I'm new here too so hopefully we'll find our way around this forum together. So far people have been nothing but helpful.

I've been on anti-depressants for years and the one thing I have learned is that you have to be patient. Which is so easy to say and so hard to do. I mean harder than anything else in life. Four weeks seems like forever when you are in the pit but in terms of depression medication its a short period. So long as they are helping you and you aren't having any major side effects it might be best to just give them a few more weeks. See if the improvement continues.

Sadly changing from one to another often involves starting again from scratch - so its always best to give each one a chance.