PDA

View Full Version : My story - anxiety + stress, advice highly appreciated

SomewhatUsual
27-07-08, 16:37
Hello everyone!

I'm new to this but have been browsing for a few days.

I'm a student with a heavy, really heavy, workload and 3 months ago I experienced what I now think was a panic attack. A feeling of overwhelming fear came over me, I started shaking, racing heartbeat etc for no reason really. I had had a pretty good day but as usual I stressed myself immensely with schoolwork and getting enough stuff done. The panic attacks resulted in me taking break off school and missing 2 exams. I was afraid that if I studied I would have yet another attack.

What followed was a series of days difficulties breathing, chest pain and a feeling like I could not get enough of air. Everytime I would put myself through a stresful situation this occured. I went to the doctors, they said my test results was fine and it was probably just stress.

Up until a few weeks ago my problems with anxiety and stress were strictly physical. Mentally I did feel fine except I felt worried.