PDA

View Full Version : Another new user. Panic for over five years, getting pretty bad.

bandofgypsies
04-08-08, 20:37
Hey everyone,

I've been looking for a place for a while where I could discuss my panic issues with people that know what the feeling is like (it's hard trying to explain it to friends and family that have never had a panic attack).

I'll keep my panic history short:

- Started a few months after I started college. Had a major panic attack in the middle of the night, had no idea what it was, scared the crap out of me.

- Was off and on throughout college, but has gotten much worse since I graduated and started working in the "real world"

- I work at a TV station, and have horrible panic attacks whenever we're about to go live on the air, and stay panicky during the entire broadcast

- Seems like my panic is much worse in the day or two after a night of heavy drinking

- I'm seeing a counselor right now, but have always been afraid of getting dependent on prescriptions so I've never been on anything for a significant amount of time. I've been prescribed Paxil and Xanax, but haven't really wanted to start them. I'm starting to open up to the idea a little bit, though.

Any advice or anything would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to having a forum to discuss these issues with.

nomorepanic
04-08-08, 20:54
Hi Bandofgypsies

A warm :welcome: aboard and lovely to see you here.

Hope we can be of some help

milly jones
04-08-08, 22:30
welcome to nmp

hope ull gain as much advice and support as i receive here

milly xx

pooh
04-08-08, 23:29
HI Band and welcome along to NMP!

I'm sure you will find lots of information and support on the site.

Pooh x

Alisonj
04-08-08, 23:45
Hi and Welcome.
I can imagine that working at a TV station can really make panic hard. The first step I would try is giving the medication a chance. Atleast the Paxil. I am not a big fan of Xanax as it is very addicting. I hope you find lots of support and answers etc.