PDA

View Full Version : New to Panic

Patrick S
18-08-08, 20:28
Hi all. My name is Patrick. I'm 28 and live in London. I work in the television and film industry. I had my first panic attack about six years ago while out with family for breakfast. I had been in relationship for a year and half and my obsessing over it forced me to go to the toilet, where I started hyper-ventilating, and dry-wretching from the nausea. My temperature also rose and I was pacing backwards and forwards for a time. Eventually it subsided and I went back to the family, unable to eat.
Nothing happened until about 2 months ago. While watching Iron Man in the cinema with my partner, I felt an acute sensation in my chest, a pain, fast heartbeat. My vision started blurring. My temperature rose. I started shaking. I honestly thought I was dying. I got up and excused my self and went to the toilet. I splashed water on my face and tried breathing slowly. Eventually I went into a cubicle and propped myself up on the toilet seat and became resided that I was going to die in the toilet of a cinema. After twenty minutes it passed and I went back in. When I got home the only way I could get rid of the nausea was to make myself sick. I got into bed and slept for an hour. After that I felt fine.
Fearing it was my heart, I have had a full ECG (think, that's what it was called; treadmill and sensors on the chest?) They said I was fine. The next time I felt myself having a panic attack in the cinema (a month later) I calmed myself down with the thought that my heart was fine, and this was my job to be in a cinema.