PDA

View Full Version : Hard to accept it is anxiety related

yasmeena
13-05-05, 03:43
Hi everybody! I am new to this room and cannot believe what you people are suffering. My heart goes out to all of you. My first experience with this 'anxiety/panic disorder' was about 5 months ago when I got severe left sided chest pain out of the blue. I thought I was having a heart attack, and being a cardiothoracic intensive care nurse, my mind went crazy with every possible case senario under the sun which obviously made it worse. The pain lasted for hours, like a squeezing and stabbing pain........and the next day I felt that I had been hit by a car. Perhaps this was because it was muscle tension. That pain gradually subsided after a few days but came back out of the blue about a month later. A couple of trips to the emergency department with ECGs, bloods etc I was told it was not heart and booked in for an endoscopy. Endoscopy normal. CT chest normal. I still did not believe it was anxiety/panic attack, and was convinced it was too severe and must be heart related and that the doctors were wrong. But from that second experience the chest pain had never really subsided. I had about four episodes where my heart felt that it was being squeezed, and that pain lasted for hours, but fortunately I have not experienced that extreme pain now for about two months. However, from these episodes I have been left with this continous gripping back pain and aching sternum and left side which never seems to disappear. Sometimes I get stabbing chest pains for no reason. Sometimes, if something upsets me I get all the other symptoms like not able to swallow, tingling limbs, but the greatest problem is my FEAR!!! My fear from the chest pain has developed into a feelings that I am going crazy and I have these moments where I feel that I am going to die at any moment. I think crazy thoughts like my aorta is about to tear and I am going to bleed to death or have a massive myocardial infarction or