PDA

View Full Version : I am new to NMP. Coming off Sertraline.

joegg888
28-08-08, 14:03
Hi all. This is my very first message on NMP.
I have been on Sertraline for over 3 years and about 5 weeks ago my GP decided to change this to Mirtazapine. I was originally prescribed an SSRI for depression caused by a very stressful job.
Unfortunately I had a massive reaction to the Mirtazapine which left me practically asleep for 3 days, not knowing whether it was day or night and not caring anyway!!! :scared15:
I also have to take Warfarin tablets since I had a fall at work in April 2005 which led to a DVT and a PE (pulmonary embolism- a blood clot in a lung). I had another PE in July 2007. Anyway, due to being asleep for most of 3 days I missed some Warfarin tablets which led to low INR (my blood was too thick) and this unfortunately led to yet another PE on 31.7.08. :doh:
Having spoken to my GP I decided to go back on Sertraline, but to reduce the dose from 150mg to 100mg ( as I had already started to get withdrawal symptoms). My GP then prescribed Sertraline in suspension form so that I could slowly withdraw from it as we had decided that I should take a break from being on any SSRI's.
This did not go as planned, as everytime I tried to reduce by 10mg I ended up having terrible withdrawal symptoms such as nausea, vomiting, headache, feeling very shaky,diarrhoea,irritable,crying etc. etc. etc.
I spoke to my GP yet again and we decided that I may as well stop Sertraline and go through the withdrawal, rather than take another 10 to 12 weeks to get off it, yet still suffering from withdrawal all of that time. Anyway, it has now been 20 days since I stopped Sertraline, and I feel absolutely awful due to the withdrawal symptoms. I have had such bad nausea and vomiting and a horrendous headache that I have had to spend the last 3 days in hospital as the A and E consultant thought I had suffered a brain haemorrhage !!!!!!!!!