PDA

View Full Version : so this is where you introduce yourself!

tr
17-05-05, 21:54
Hi Everyone!
I dropped into this site a couple weeks ago and have been reading through all the other forums. I finally jumped in and posted a question on the symptoms forum, so only now am I finding the introductions. Kind of felt like I already belonged!

I am new to this - it took me awhile to believe my GP when she diagnosed hyperventilation (surely it was something more deadly!) a couple months ago when I complained of chest pain, dizziness, vision disturbances, etc. etc. I've been having symptoms on and off for about a year, but only recognise them for what they are now - this site helps a lot, particularly in convincing me that I'm not about to die.

One thing I would like to figure out, is what triggers these symptoms. I never thought of my life as stressful - just busy. But my doctor says being human is enough to make you susceptible to anxiety. I did have a scary incident with a viral infection that put me in hospital a year ago and I think that's what got me started with hyperventilating. Now, I'm working out how to get over that. It's good to read the success stories to know it's possible.

tr

sal
17-05-05, 22:06
Hi Tr

Great that you have found this site. As for triggering these symptoms it can be many reasons and at times we have all questioned why and some of us are still wondering why.

Just hope we can help you through this.

Love Sal xx

Dont mess up the best things in your life, just because at present you are unsure who you are.

EmmaJane
17-05-05, 22:27
Hi tr, welcome to the site. I havent posted my introduction yet[B)]. Im sure Ill get round to it soon.

Hope you find all the help you need here

Feel free to PM me, if you want to talk.

Emma xx

Keep focused, keep positive.

seh1980
17-05-05, 22:30
Welcome to the forum!! :D

Meg
17-05-05, 22:32
Hyperventilation may just be shallow breaths rather than breathing way too fast..

Meg
www.anxietymanagementltd.com