PDA

View Full Version : Driving Jobs

kendo59
11-09-08, 03:52
Has anyone had any experience of applying for professional driving jobs, having had medical treatment for anxiety/stress/depression?

When I was made redundant, I was seriously going have a change of career and to put in for my HGV test and become a lorry driver.

I'm already technically qualified to drive up to 7.5 tonne, and I've got all the tachograph knowledge, etc.

But a couple of job interviews I've been on lately, the application form specifically asks if (the applicant) has been treated for depression or stress.
I wonder if it is something that companies (and even the DVLA) consider a prohibitive risk. Perhaps they consider the risk of stress induced road-rage or depression-induced suicidal thoughts, whilst driving a huge lorry down the motorway, is something to disqualify anyone from being employed as a lorry driver?

Has anyone any knowledge of these issues?

Gabby
11-09-08, 10:15
Hiya

I have no experience of applying for these jobs but Im an HR Manager and we employ minibus drivers so thought I would offer my opinion.

Depression/stress should not automatically exclude you from any job, including driving. Its quite common practice nowadays to ask applicants for their medical history, just so the employer knows what they are getting and most importantly can be pro active in offering support where needed. It may be that they have had a bad experience with a previous employee that was depressed or stressed and thats why they are asking.