PDA

View Full Version : In need of some help/advice

SherryG
12-09-08, 19:57
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to your forum :flowers: and I hope it's okay to post a question here. My doctor claims that I am suffering from Panic Attacks and I'm kind of confused about a few things so I thought I would come and ask the advice of people who are going through it.

First of all, I have been feeling jittery/nervous all week long, almost to the point of trembling. Is it normal for panic attack sufferers to feel jittery for this long or all the time? I thought that a panic attack came out of nowhere and peaked within 5-10 minutes and then began to subside.

I was also told by my doctor that just before a panic attack you will have a sensation of impending doom, like something bad is about to happen. I never feel like this at all. I am just jittery.

I did have a weird episode the other night - let me share it with you. I was asleep in bed and awoke all of a sudden. I opened my eyes and saw all kinds of black specs floating around. I thought they were mosquitos. I also noticed that my whole body seemed to be vibrating. It was vibrating so violently that I was about to ask my husband if he could feel it too when everything started going black. I thought I was going to pass out. I got out of bed and went to the window for air. After everything seemed to settle down, I crawled back in bed and tried to fall back asleep. Just as I was almost alseep, the whole thing started all over again - the vibrating and feeling like I was going to pass out. After it passed, I was left sitting in bed feeling jittery. The whole episode lasted three hours.

Does this sound typical of a panic attack?

I am so very sorry for the length of this post but I am trying to determine whether or not I should start on the medication the doctor prescribed. I'm not really big on taking drugs but if I need it then I will definitely take it.

Thanks for 'listening'.

Sherry

vti2007
12-09-08, 20:18
Hi Sherry,