PDA

View Full Version : They do pass

Chant
13-09-08, 20:29
There is something I would like to share with everyone. When I'm having a panic attack, I think to myself "It will pass". This helps me alot and makes the panic go away.
I have had panic attacks for years on and off. I should know by now that they are only panic attacks. Letting them happen makes them go away! If I show the panic monster that I am not scared it goes away and is no longer intersted in me.:yesyes:

nic x
13-09-08, 21:07
chant, thats what im learning to do, but its soooooooo hard!!!! i also have suffered for years, its no longer the fear im goin to die, its the fear of im goin mad, losing it!! how can u stay calm enough to say it will pass, when mine come i totally fight them to go away, i no this is wrong but just cant sit there and say it will pass, how do u do it?:shrug:

Chant
14-09-08, 12:34
Hey there!
I never said it was easy! LOL! But it takes time and practice. Belive me I'm no expert. Sometimes it works and sometimes I freak out a bit. But the more we fight it the more we get nervous and the stronger the panic attack gets. This is what I have read in sevral books. We have to learn to longer be afraid of them. It takes time! Sometimes I say" OK panic monster come and get me! Is that the best you can do?" Sometimes it goes away! Sometimes I don't really belive what I'm saying and the PM knows it!

pinkpiglet
14-09-08, 13:16
I too learnt how to talk myself out of a panic attack. Going back a few years after a dreadful spell of anxiety i realised that i could recognise the signs of a brewing attack so i would start to talk myself out of it. I still arent sure how i do it, it's like a mind over matter thing i suppose. Only thing is that now i get those disorientated feelings (spaced out) in place of the attacks. Its better than that feeling of impending doom and sheer panic where i couldnt get my breath though (still get those very occasionally but no where near as bad).