PDA

View Full Version : Therapy bombshell!

belle
16-09-08, 18:13
I don't know where to put this thread, so if it's in the wrong place, please move it :)

So yeah, i have just had a CBT session, the first in about 5 weeks. Anyway, he dropped the bombshell that I am possibly one of the very few in his 30 year career that hasn't made any progress.

Clearly this has made me feel like a sack of sh*t. I know i am not very good at this recovery business, but being told it, is not something you want to hear.

I just cannot do it. I cannot get past any of these feelings. I feel them, i avoid them. I have tried my fricking hardest over the 10 years of being agoraphobic to recover, but i am just not able to do it.

I've done 'baby steps', i've done 'exposure'. I've been exposing myself to the school run for FIVE years, yet i still feel panicky! HOW MUCH EXPOSING does it take to feel comfortable??? Five years and still no better, that's a sign that things just don't happen for me.

Do i curl up in a ball and just give up, 'cause that is exactly what i want to do right now. I am a big, fat, failure, who is undoubtedly destined to a life of misery and imprisonment.

I see NO WAY OUT.

kendo59
16-09-08, 18:24
Hey, it's his job to help you improve. If you haven't improved, then it's HIS failure, not yours.
Are you paying for your therapy? Ask for a refund.

OK, let's look at your problem.

I have tried my fricking hardest over the 10 years of being agoraphobic to recover, but i am just not able to do it.

How far outside the house ARE you able to go? 5 years doing the school run is enough to make anyone panicky, so don't beat yourself up.

If you ran out of milk, food, medicine, etc, would you be able to go to the corner shop, or to the doctors/chemist? If your house was on fire, would you be able to leave it?

milly jones
16-09-08, 18:28
huny altho cbt helped me conquer some of my fears, im 3 years later on still fighting

push for further types of therapy