PDA

View Full Version : withdrawl side effects or depression back????

debbiejones
18-09-08, 10:05
Hi, this is my first time of posting and i am so glad i have found this site. Basically i have been on citalopram for 4 and half years, initially for post natal depression, then every time i felt ok i would try and come off it but had to stay on it as i did not cope without it. I went up to 20 mg. 18 months ago my husband left me, had an affair and left me with three young kids. I stayed on the meds and it was my life line. However for the last 6 months i have slowly weaned myself from 20 to 10 to every other day to once a week. My last tablet was 4 weeks ago. I don't feel like i am not coping but am worried that either the symptons are returning although i feel in control this time. I shake alot, worry a hell of alot and am so emotional. Do i just ride it out or is it the depression coming back. I feel strong and determined not to go back on them but i know how quickly i became depressed and unable to cope with even taking the kids to school. I work part time, new job which i do struggle with as its a new career. My divorce came through two months ago so that is over with. I am just nervous as this time i am on my own. The dr did not help when i asked how i should be coming off them. How long will these symptons stay with me after being on them for 4 and a half years. Should they be out my system by now and is it me just adjusting to not being on them...Would really appreciate anyone who can help. I am proud of myself for coming this far but i can be great positive person then i get a couple of issues that totally overwhelm me and feel like i can't cope and i go downwards then and find it hard to get a grip.

hopeful
19-09-08, 12:06
Hi Debbie and welcome to nmp.I'm afraid I can't answer your question as I'm still taking citalopram,for a year now and willing to take it for the rest of my life if need be!