PDA

View Full Version : Am I having panic attacks? Scared and deppressed, please help!!

bb22
19-09-08, 12:26
I need to know what's going on with me, I am 20 and just after i left school i had a period of time when i worried constantly about everything, even my house getting bombed in the night! But in the last 3years i've been fine, living a normal life. Just over a month ago I was at work (i work as a waitress) talking to some customers when my chest tightened and i felt like i couldn't breathe. I went and sat down and presumed that I had a bad chest due to a cold or something...It scared me a lot! Now I'm getting this feeling everyday especially at work and I sit here now dreading going to work in case this happens, I'm worried about collapsing in front of people or there being no-one there to help me. When I'm at home or with my partner I feel much safer. Because these attacks arenet that bad at the minute I'm worried that next time it happens it will be much much worse. I havent being diagnosed with anxiety or panic attacks but am going to see GP on tues. Is what i'm experiencing panic attacks?????? please help i keep crying worring about this. My attacks don't sound as abd as anyone else's on here, Thanks for reading, xx:weep:

LeeBee
19-09-08, 12:44
Hi bb, certainly sounds like you are having anxiety symptoms. Try not to worry about having a panic attack, try to think "it it happens, it happens". Easier said than done, I know! Horrible as panic attacks are, they are not life-threatening. They can't really hurt you and are usually over quite quickly.