PDA

View Full Version : Am I having panic attacks? Scared and deppressed, please help!!

bb22
19-09-08, 12:44
Hi there, I'm new to this but im so scared and down about what is happening to me, I don't understand what's happening to me!
Just after i left school four years ago i suffered badly with worrying about everything, worrying about being really ill all the time, worrying even about planes flying over the house bombing us!
I seemed to get over this in my first year of college and since then have been fine...until now! Just over a month ago I was at work (waitress) serving customers when i felt my chest go tight and felt like i couldn't breathe, couldn't catch my breath. I went and sat down and put this down to a bad chest. It sacred me very much though and i worried for the rest of the night. For the following week i felt so down and stressed, i felt like the world was not real and that i was not real, that scared me a hell of a lot!
Recently the breathing problems have being happening to me alomost daily, and not just at work. This has caused me to concentrate on my breathing constantly and be anxious all the time. Am I having panic attacks because it isn't as bad as other people's explanations on here.
Please help i have no-one else to talk to, i have not seen my GP i feel stupid! Thank you:weep:

Davvid
19-09-08, 16:43
You're not stupid. - far from it.
It's horrible isn't it, but you've always got people on this site to talk to.
Your GP should understand too.
All the best, Dave.

Yvonne
19-09-08, 18:14
bb22

What you're describing is very very common. You need to get your breathing under control. There are loads of posts on here about how to breathe properly. What you are experiencing sounds like bad anxiety, I think a full blown panic attack would include a few more symptoms than you are getting - i.e. difficulty breathing, racing heart, jelly legs, etc etc. - in my experience of fully blown panic attacks there are lots of symptoms all at once.