PDA

View Full Version : newbie !!!

smiths
20-09-08, 18:00
hi im new to panic attacks been having them for about 3 months so just getting used to the symptons etc
although i do have sum questions
after an attack i get a tight chest for a hour or 2 after is this normal

Cathy V
20-09-08, 18:13
Hi there smiths and to answer your question, yes its perfectly normal to get a tight chest after panics, if you can imagine the sheer tension involved in a panic attack, all the muscles are really tense and that includes the chest muscles too. How often are you getting the panics?

Cathy xxx

smiths
20-09-08, 18:17
hi i was getting them about once a week but had 3 this week already !!! i have been very anxious this week though i was getting myself worked up convinced that i have summat wrong with my heart even though ive had a ecg and all was ok

Cathy V
20-09-08, 18:20
Yes this all sounds like classic anxiety and most of us on here know how you feel. I have a heart phobia because i suffer with missed beats and sometimes flutters...very uncomfortable, but in the past year ive learned to cope with them much better thanks to the meds (betablockers) and talking to other sufferers on here. Are you taking any meds and have you had a chat about your panics to the doc?

smiths
20-09-08, 18:23
also ive been really off my food too worried to eat now im staring to eat again i have indigeston and trapped wind which is uncomfortable aswell :weep:

smiths
20-09-08, 18:24
im not on any meds the doctor has put me in touch with a counseller but there is a 4 week waiting list

Cathy V
20-09-08, 18:30