PDA

View Full Version : New Member

Rod
23-09-08, 01:10
Hello everyone,

My name is Rod and I am 42 years old and live in New South Wales, Australia.

I have been visiting the forums and web site for several months now and have found it very helpfull and interesting. I can see that there are alot of people who have panic attacks like myself.

At first I had no idea what was going on and was going into my GP on a weekly basis and having some different test done, each time they would come back negative. I was even in intesive care in hospital for a week and the Doctors were convinced I had had a Heart attack and sent me for an angiogram.

I like alot of people were randomly typing symptoms into search engines and coming up with sometimes as many as 600 conditions I could have.

It was affecting my family and friends as well as my independence.

One day I found this web site and when reading down the list of symptoms I was convinced this was me. It gave me instant relief to finally know what was going on. I went back to the Doctor ( A different one from before) and he agreed and strait away prescribed me Aropax to try and settle me down. I was in a real mess still. He also made an appointment with a Clinical Psychologist for some CBT. This Doctor was very understanding.

I have been going to the Psychologist for 9 weeks now and am making great progress. I still get alot of symptoms but am better equipped to deal with them. They dont stop me doing anything now, although sometimes its still uncomfortable.

I am more in tune with my body now days and also I find I read alot more which helps me to relax. So I guess a positive to come out of all this is I discovered reading again. Also I stop and take more notice of the little things in life that I often brushed by. I spend more time with my 2 step sons.

Its also opened my eyes to people who suffer from these conditions.

pooh
23-09-08, 01:46
Hi there and welcome along to NMP

Pooh x

Phill2
23-09-08, 02:40
Hi Rod