PDA

View Full Version : There is no consistency with ectopics

Jenny M
02-10-08, 23:28
I have had ectopics, palpitations, missed beats, flutters and everything in between for over 30 years. I am also a registered nurse and thought I ought to know how to deal with them. At first they ruined my life because I could not deal with the disruptive invasive nature of the thing, together with the fact that no one took me seriously and I went through some horrendous experiences whilst trying to deal with the psychological damage this was doing to me. Mine is a very long story and I wish that there had been a medium like this when I first started having them, it would have helped me so much. I became isolated and depressed. I couldn't work or deal with people and I had anger outbursts which were truly spectacular and eventually after months of no help I became exhausted and suicidal. In the end my partner went to my GP and asked him to please find someone who could help and he did. Found this wonderful consultant cardiologist who said that if he could not find some medication to help me then he would invent one! I spent three months in hospital and it took me two years to really get a handle on it but one of the things I found with my meticulous record keeping was that there is often no rhyme or reason why ectopics come when they do. I used to write down every incident, every episode, everything I was doing at the time. It became a bit of an obsession, so much so that the cardiologist told me "I don't want to see you writing anything else down on that piece of paper". But my vast experience has shown that you cannot tell when they are going to do what they do or when they are not. I have been through some awful awful stressful experiences and had none and then another time, no problems getting on with my life, all's right with the world and then they come. I could write so much on this, it's sort of opened a pressurized can but I had better keep it short to start with. Needl