PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone :)

tigger_pooh
03-10-08, 16:21
Hi all,

What can I say about me? I'm 29, living with my civil partner and toddler son. My partner is pregnant with our second child...due in 3 1/2 weeks! I hold down a responsible full time job which I love, I'm studying in the evenings to further my career and I generally have a very comfortable and content life..........

........so WHY am I suffering from anxiety and panic attacks??? That's the bit I'm a little stuck on. It first started 3 years ago when I was having a lot of personal difficulties and needed counselling. That was understandable as the doctor described at the time, it was down to circumstances in my life. I see no reason as to why I'm suddenly having them now. It started again around 2-3 months ago. I was out with a friend and suddenly started feeling anxious. I had palpitations, my palms were sweating, I started feeling I couldn't get enough air and had an overwhelming urge to go home where I would feel 'safe'. Every time I have gone out socially (not work or family outings) particularly in the evenings I have had a panic attack and had to leave very early to go home. I last had one last week and am now telling myself I'll just avoid all social situations and nights out. But, that's not the logical answer...it's just how I'm feeling at the moment. It takes me anywhere from 2 - 6 hours to bring my anxiety down to an acceptable level. Then I'm just drained for hours. I guess I'm looking for a bit of support here and maybe some guidance as to how to move forward.

M x

Dazza
03-10-08, 16:31
Hi tiggerpooh,

Glad that you found us! :)

First of all, welcome to the NMP family! You will find lots of useful info, advice and support here.

in terms of advice of about how to move forward, make full use of the forums here. you might want to start with the 'Success Stories' section of this site...it's really inspirational.