PDA

View Full Version : Hi

gramit
05-10-08, 19:45
I came across this forum on google.

I'm not a big fan of counselling as I find it hard to open up but for some reason find it easy to write it down.

I'm only 21 and already going through my 2nd nervous breakdown. I had an OK childhood nothing special or sinister, my brother died 2 days before my 19th birthday and it spiralled from there. My girlfriend at the time got pregnant and had an abortion, I started University while working a full time job to pay off my 5 year finance on a new car which was a big mistake as it has been a ball and chain round my feet ever since. My brothers pub was running into debt which I used my student loan to pay off for which my brother is still paying me back when he feels like it. I was an assistant manager for a betting shop which was very stressful and it was while working here I had my 1st breakdown. I worked my way through several types of anti-depressents and sedatives to no avail.

I also suffered from multiple drug addictions during my 1st and 2nd years at University ranging from just marijuana and alcohol to coke, ecstacy, ketamine, laughing gas... anything I could get my hands on really to forget about my problems. Luckily I am a clever sod so still got good grades in all my modules so it hasn't affect my degree yet. I am now clean.

After last christmas where my depression/anxiety was peaking I didn't sleep, eat, work, I couldn't do anything really and eventually my ex had enough and left me. I met a new girl shortly after and gave up my meds and drugs and I rapidly got better and though I had put all of this behind me.