PDA

View Full Version : worried about stomach cancer

barracuda girl
10-10-08, 16:18
Hi Guys
Newbie here -have followed this forum for a while, you lot are great !:yesyes:

Am really worried about my stomach. Have been very stressed and anxious recently - bereavements and stuff like that. Have suffered from HA for many years.
Anyhoo - had what started out as acid indigestion - got omeprazole from docs . Worked for a week then symptoms back! Eventually was suffering horrible hunger pains most of the morning (although am eating normally)- it felt like my stomach was on the verge on rumbling all the time but it never did. Decided to come off the omeprazole - the hunger pains went though stomach still felt dodgy - burps and gurgles in my throat but in all seemed much better. Then the hunger pains came back - have appoinment with a consultant in two weeks and docs have put me on low dose lansoprazole - too early to tell if that will help - its day 2 and so far not. The only time I get any relief is when I am asleep symptoms tend to kick in a while after waking up, so not the typical acid indigestion awake all night scenario.
Am really worried that I HAVE STOMACH CANCER :ohmy: or some sort of ovarian tumour pressing on my stomach - mum died of ovarian cancer a few years ago. Docs felt my tummy and says feels fine and at my age (42) not worried about cancer but I can't get it out of my mind , can all this be caused by stress and anxiety? How am I going to wait two weeks for the appointment ......aaagh:scared15:

yanksforever
10-10-08, 16:27
Welcome to NMP!