PDA

View Full Version : any info on propranolol please

Chelle1
24-10-08, 21:43
Hi all,

Ive been prescribed propranolol today, have never taken betablockers before and im a bit worried as always about taking new med. My mom always nics the leaflets out of them so that i cant read about the side effects too.

Any info would be appreciated.

Thanks

xxx

Jaco45er
24-10-08, 21:52
Hi Chelle

I am not a fan of meds, but I have taken propanolol for stressy situations, it's a beta blocker.

Anxiety wise it calms the heart although its design was for lowering blood pressure, have they told you to take it every day?

I used to pop one when going to meetings just to take the edge off.

Only drawback I know off is if you take it regular, it can make you lethargic. That was only what I read in a Claire Weekes book, I am no expert.

Jaco

Chelle1
24-10-08, 21:56
Ive been prescribed 80 mg to be taken every morning,

Cathy V
24-10-08, 21:57
I take propranolol 80mg. They are given for anxiety as they slow your heart down....so can also help if you suffer with 'missed beats'. They can be given also for migraine and high blood pressure, as they relax the blood vessels. They do have some side effects, as do most drugs, and affect people in different ways, but the side effects if any are quite mild compared to some drugs.

My main side effect was lack of energy, due to them slowing the system down a bit, but i must say that having tried another beta blocker called bisprolol, propranolol are the best to take in my opinion, and side effects seem to have settled down now.

Cathy xxx :)

Chelle1
24-10-08, 22:17
Hi Cathy,

Are they best taken in the morning as my doc suggested or at night been as they can make people lethargic, when do you take yours?

xxx

Cathy V
24-10-08, 22:23