PDA

View Full Version : throat !!!

gems21
10-06-05, 18:24
Hi all

I am new to this, hope fully you can help.

I have a clicky in my throat when i swallow, really irritating and worrying. Also my throat feels tight like i am being strangled and have feelings that i cants breathe.

Please someone tell me i wont stop breathing and that i will be ok

florence
10-06-05, 18:30
You won't stop breathing.

It's very common to feel your throat tight when anxious , nervous, sad...
I get it quite often..
No matter how uncomfortable it is, its not going to harm you.
Florence.

**Don't believe everything you think .**

tattybear
10-06-05, 18:31
Hi gems,

You wont stop breathing - its a sign of anxiety. Mine is like this and hightened wihen im anxious. Feels like i cant swollow and my throat is closing up...but the more you worry about it the worse it is (easier said then done).

Please be reassured it is anxiety - try some adversion theraphy and do somthing to take your focus away from it ie watch a dvd read a book etc.

Tatty B xx

gems21
10-06-05, 18:32
hi thanks for this - really irritating though and the clicking what is that about.

Can you not stop breathing if your throat tightens

alexis
10-06-05, 18:33
Hi Gems, my problems started with a throat problem, it felt sticky. Im still breathing and its over a year ago, are you being treated for anxiety, depression or anything.What are your symptoms other than throat, if you read the old posts you will find a lot of similar things, trake care love Alexis,x

seh1980
10-06-05, 18:39
Welcome aboard Gems!! :)

No, you will not stop breathing even though it may feel like it sometimes. When you are anxious, you are actually breathing in more oxygen so you have nothing to worry about..

Sarah :D

"Life is too important to take seriously" Corky Siegal

mjh74
10-06-05, 19:30
Hi Gems,