PDA

View Full Version : Major Depression

Diane O'Brien
12-11-08, 22:05
Hi, My name is Diane and have been diagnosed with major depression. I am married with two children. I was a student midwife but had to leave due to the condition. I felt dreadful, crying constantly, feeling hopeless, so isolated and lonely. My appetite had gone, I was losing weight. I was constantly tired and drained but I could,nt sleep at night, because of crying and anxiety. I could not sit down, constantly on the go. My concentration levels were awful and my anxiety levels were through the roof. In the car one day I felt like crashing into a wall, not bothering about anythin I felt numb. I was constantly drinkin wine which made me more tearful. I left the course due to all these problems and I knew I needed help. I went to the doctors were she prescribed citalopram. 5 weeks later I have good and bad days. I am still not working and dont feel up to it at the minute. I,m scared of never being the preson I once was, will I ever be me again. I want to work again but simple things cause me anxiety. The citalopram has made a difference but my confidence has been shattered.

weeble40
13-11-08, 00:09
Hi and a big welcome to NMP its great to have you here, hope to see you in chat sometime,

Take care

Emma xxx

pooh
13-11-08, 09:32
Hi there and welcome along to NMP

sometimes when we take a knock like this we need to give ourselves time to get back on some kind of an even keel. Be kind to yourself and baby steps all the way.

Pooh x

marie1974
13-11-08, 10:25
hi hun, i know how bad depression can b and i had it bad myself yrs ago and had 2 little babies to look after.

first of all if the meds are helping, even though u get good and bad days, then thats a good start.