PDA

View Full Version : From Citalopram to Fluoxetine - and totally clueless!

birdcage
14-11-08, 19:02
Hi there. Just stopped taking Citalopram as was not helping battle my depression. Been prescribed 20mg fluoxetine, was wondering if this was a normal or a low dose? I seem to be quite tolerant to ssri's...
Also, an obvious question but was wondering if there were any daunting and terrible side affects (apart from the expected nausea/ weird stuff!)

Find this site a real support and would appreciate a message or two, just for me to know that someone is out there, listening who understands what it's like - as no one I know really has a clue about all this depression business. Had a freak out panic attack on Thursday which has put me off rinking for a couple of weeks as I'm sure it was directly related to that. Does Flu.. have any adverse affects? I suppose being a depressant alcohol is a no-no but I'm a 20y/old student who works in a nightclub so am pretty much surrounded!
Hope you guys are all good and hopeful.
Thanks for your time, again feel free to contact me.
Thanks,
Alicia X :)

nic x
14-11-08, 23:06
just curious about your post, im currently taking citalpram, have dun for 2 half yrs, dnt find them help me much, have been talking to gp about prozac, how u finding the change? did u have to stop cit before taking prozac? like get the cit out ya system? how long were u on cit? would love to hear x

kitttykat
16-11-08, 18:24
20mg is the normal amount I believe. I have severe depression and take 20mg per day every morning. Alcohol is an absolute no-no, some people find its ok, but I have had a couple of really bad experiences and find that if I drink I get alot more anxious and seem to take 100 steps back, since I stopped drinking I feel much better and I am steadily getting there.