PDA

View Full Version : If it aint one worry, it's another

Jaco45er
14-11-08, 20:58
So I am doing up my house and the soon to be utility room (don't ask me, some room with washing machines n stuff) has a crappy looking ceiling (old garage) and has to go.

As I pulled down one panel, it strikes me, this is feckin asbestos. It's split, crap everywhere and I am sure it's asbestos.

1st thing I do is shut the door to the kitchen (no family in thank feck) chuck the clothes in the washer, and scrub down.

I am no expert, I call the local council to find out if it could be asbestos (house circa late 1960's), local council are as useful as a trap door on a canoe. They give me the number of the local "approved" contractor.

Once I have made the call, I am put through to an arrogant muppet who makes Nick Cotton look friendly. He explains to me the dangers of asbestos, then I explain that this is the reason for the call (no sh*t Sherlock, is asbestos dangerous? I am lonely and just want a chat u dipstick).

After he describes the intricate details of the damaging effects of asbestos (anxiety rising at this point) he assures me that they can do the following:

Seal the house

Monitor the air

Remove the boards (2 off, no bigger than 6 x 4, 2 min job)

inform the HSE

will take 14 days of monitoring

I got a plasterer coming next week and them feckers are like gold dust to track down.

To top it all, they are willing to charge £1,050 + the Vodka and Tonic for their troubles to remove the last boards.

It's a new concept for me, it was always the heart anxiety I had, now I have lung anxiety.

Anyone had experience with household asbestos?

anxious
14-11-08, 21:17
Hi Jaco,

my dad was in the building trade for years and has come into contact with it many times. We've talked about this lots in the past as i worked with him and often saw it in garages etc. If its not a lot (two sheets you mention?) i'd be tempted to remove it myself obviously taking precautions.