PDA

View Full Version : Hi I'm new with panic attacks in cars

louised
20-11-08, 13:34
Hello everyone, I am so relieved to have found this site. I'm 40 years old, married, lovely husband, lovely children, job I like, generally nice life but it's being ruined by panic attacks.

They started a few weeks ago after going through a fairly stressful couple of months including the death of a friend I loved very much. The worst thing is I always get them in cars, mainly when I'm driving, and always somewhere where i can't stop the car or pull over (ie: on a motorway when I have to move off crawler lane to let in incoming traffic, dual carriageway in a stream of traffic, on a bridge, narrow lane etc) I'm already avoiding main roads, bridges etc when driving but can't stop altogether because we live right out in the country and I have elderly parents who need a lot of support. I am really worried I'm going to cause a major accident because the attacks are so frightening and my legs shake so much it's hard to control the pedals and usually I feel awful for at least an hour after the main wave of the attack has passed.

Has anyone else been through this and found a way to stop it? I would be so grateful for any advice, am feeling desperate. Thank you so much.

marie1974
20-11-08, 13:47
hiya and welcome to nmp, im sure you will find some great advice and support from people here, also make new friends too.

ps im sorry about your friend, thats very sad news and sometimes thnigs like this will set off panic and anxiety, mayb can u speak to a doctor or counsellor, i had cbt counselling for 5 months for anxiety and other stuff and it really helped me. hugs xxx

hevsw
20-11-08, 13:59