PDA

View Full Version : Throat, coping and distractions... ?

mjh74
16-06-05, 23:56
Hi all,

I'm sure you've read my posts about my throat issues. Thanks to the Cipralex that I'm taking I'm able to get through the days easier than before, as long as I'm chewing it's bearable. The thing is, the second I lapse and stop chewing or try to relax for 5 minutes, the symptoms start to get unbearable again and it's a constant battle to try and fend it off. I know it's something that I'm creating but I don't know how to stop it :(. I just want to continually swallow and my throat feels despirate as if I want to gag like I can't bear just having it there, this leads to the muscles becoming tense and things get worse from there. I am always concious of the dangly bit and the surround flaps of skin near your tonsils and I feel like heaving when I speak. I have been fighting this for 7 months now and I don't know how to relieve the symptoms. I'm having CBT sessions at the minute 1 to 1 and tomorrow I talk about exposure. I'm not sure if this involves me speaking until I heave and vomit to overcome my emetaphobia or what. I guess I will soon find out.
I would love to get back to work and be over this altogther. I do pop in once or twice a week as advised by occupational health but by the time I've been there for my hour my throat has had about as much as it can take and aches, this leaves me feeling exhausted for the rest of the day too.
I keep reading posts on here from fellow throat sufferers but theirs seems to go away or is controllable, what is the secret?

Sorry to ramble... I know things are a LOT better over the past month or two than they have been all year but if the throat is getting any better it's such a miniscule change I'm not really appreciating it. My worry is the longer that it goes on, the many years to come I will have it looming in the background whenever I feel a bit off.