PDA

View Full Version : I think my Mum has a problem and I don't know how to get her to see it...

tigerlily
05-12-08, 22:30
I think my mum suffers from agoraphobia and has done for years but I don't know how to say to her that she needs some help.

It's 9 years since I left home and went to uni. Since then, I graduated and moved to a new city. I met my boyfriend three years ago and we bought a house together this year. My mum has only visited me once - when I was at uni, just for the day, near my 21st birthday. She hasn't met my boyfriend or seen our house - it would be a weekend visit to see us. If I try to visit her with my boyfriend, there are always reasons he can't visit. My sister went to uni in the city I live in now. Mum stayed in a hotel with Dad the night before my sister's graduation. Mum got in a flap on the morning of the graduation - and I guess that was a panic attack - and she didn't go. We went out for a meal in the evening and Mum came along then but she did seem tense. Whenever I speak to her about visiting, there's always a reason she can't and she seems to be trying to think of reasons that will stop her from visiting in the long term, too. She has problems with her legs and while they are an actual problem, she seems to use her health problems as an excuse to hide behind.

I think she has been like this for years. When I was at school it was the same. I think it stems from having low self esteem. When Mum was in her teens, her dad got drunk at the weekends and end up punching her (he was alchoholic). My nan couldn't stand the silence the next day so would make Mum say sorry to Grandad! Needless to say, Mum never had a good relationship with my nan. Both my nan and grandad died in the last few years and, sadly, Mum is actually happy they are both gone because her relationship with Nan was always strained at best, and after she died, Grandad's alcoholism got really bad.