PDA

View Full Version : Pulse Rate

angieb
23-06-05, 16:42
Hiya all

Just a quickie, my resting pulse rate is still 80bpm - is this OK or do you think this could still be due to high blood pressure or just basic lack of fitness as for three months I have not moved faster than a steady walk?

Thanks in advance...Angie

driverpm
23-06-05, 17:04
hi angie,
not sure of your history but that sounds spot on as it is my understanding that a 'normal' heart rate is between 60 and 100 bpm. can be confusing as the act of measuring your pulse can actually effect what it is (i.e. unconciosly altering your breathing while measuring).
hope that reassures a bit
phil
ps i have heart related health anxiety so have done quite a lot of research on 'normal' heart rythms (also i'm a postdoc in a medical research institute so have bugged my clinical colleagues about this too ;))

angieb
23-06-05, 17:14
Phil - thank you for this.

I am just addressing lifestyle issues now as I have successfully overcome panic anxiety during teh last three months. Consider myself 95% there now. After my first major panic during an exercise class and second one walking up hill in Wales I was utterly convinced I was a gonner and gave up all exercise...all moving very far or fast at all actually.

This week though I have walked the mile or so round trip up hill to take my daugter to school, taught my girls to do cartwheels in the garden, been back on the exercise bike (can now manage 15 mins straight) and an just generally trying things out again.

It feels good, next stage to to half my wine intake [:O] and increase the school walk to twice a day and the bike to 30 mins a day - that will hopefully see the puls and BP come down a bit :D

Again, appreciate your time...Angie

chucklehound
23-06-05, 17:14
Yeah I think thats normal.

Mine was 160bpm when I first got anxiety and I had to go into hospital

for tests but they came back normal.

All the best

Feel free pm me if you want to chat

steno -x-

driverpm