PDA

View Full Version : Monophobia as part of agoraphobia

panicradio
18-12-08, 07:07
One of my major issues is monophobia. I am afraid of being alone. For a while today it seemed like I was going to face about a 4 hour period tomorrow during which I would be alone in my house. I was totally freaked out by the idea and got quite anxious about it. Turns out that won't be the case, but it did make me think about it.

I'm making progress with regard to the agoraphobia side of things - going out and driving around alone - and my confidence is building. I'm wondering if anyone else found that monophobia was "fixed" once you overcame serious anxiety and agoraphobia issues. My gut tells me that it will get better as I get more comfortable being out.

PUGLETMUM
18-12-08, 09:59
:) hi, no it isnt 'fixed' - it is part of agoraphobia, you know the dependancy side of it - some ppl can only go out with other ppl as part of their agoraphobia and this can at times extend to being alone - if you have become afraid of panicking then it is obvious that you will be afraid to panic alone in case something terrible happens or it wont stop? its all just part of the same thing - this time last year i was struggling with being alone and now im not, so in my opinion although it can get worse before it gets better - if you expose yourself to it then eventually yuo do learn to cope and overcome it - the same goes for the agoraphobia - at first the anxiety and panic do get much much worse as you expose yourself, but if you give yourself time and alot of care you will recover:yesyes:

belle
18-12-08, 10:47
I was really very monophobic as part of my agoraphobia. I couldn't be alone for even a matter of minutes without having major panic attacks. Now i am alone, all day, everyday and i love it! I'm not saying i don't from time to time get anxious, but considering the amount of time i spend alone, it's really nothing in comparision, in fact, i enjoy being alone now :)