PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here!

Aljamo78
19-12-08, 20:47
Hi all, my name is Alex, I'm 30 from the West Midlands. I suffer with anxiety and panic attacks.

Was told about this site sometime ago but as I thought I had my problem under control, I hadn't looked at it... Until today when I had my first full attack in some months...

I started having panic attacks 2 years ago around Christmas time. There is a definite link to lack of sleep and alcohol that triggers my anxiety the following day, as I work Saturday nights as a DJ this is a real problem for me. I was at my 3rd consecutive night of Xmas parties at a hotel in Leicester and got to bed at around 4am very much the worse for wear.

During the drive home the following day, I frequently began to lose confidence in my driving ability and felt incredibly claustraphobic forcing me to stop and pull over with increasing frequency, much to the annoyance of my girlfriend. I realised I couldn't cope with the motorway any more and so we left it, still miles from home to try and pick our way home through back roads. This enabled us to stop as and when I needed to get out of the car which became every few hundred yards.
I had no idea what was happening to me, I was very scared and was convinced if I didn't get out of the car, something awful was going to happen. I was pretty sure I was having a stroke or a heart-attack or something. I was getting pins and needles in my head, palpitations, nausea, I kept needing the loo, I kept burping (sorry I know this is horrible but its what happened). It was horrible.