PDA

View Full Version : i don't know what to do

stellabella
02-01-09, 22:21
i've been suffering from depression and anxiety for many years now, but recently my anxieties and depression have got worse, 2 weeks ago my doctor put me on Citalopram and I took a few days off work over Christmas because of the side effects - i felt even more anxious and tired all day. i still don't feel a lot better and I'm supposed to be going back to work on Monday but even thinking about it just fills me with dread. It involves an hour journey on the tube and it's the part I hate the most - I panic so much and on these tablets I feel even worse. But I'm a contractor and if I don't work, I don't get paid. I'm also worried that they'll just see me as someone who's always sick and replace me with someone else which I really can't risk, as I was made redundant a couple of months ago and can't afford to be jobless. I also live with my Dad and he doesn't understand, however many times I've told him, about my condition - he just sees it as lazyness and gets angry if I take time off work.
What do I do? The doctor signed me off work til Monday but I really dread going back :( i just know that I will panic like crazy on the tube and I will just cry and cry on Monday morning :(

Nechtan
03-01-09, 13:15
There is obviously no quick fix for Monday so it may be that if you really cannot cope with going that you may have to ask to be signed off for longer. The thing with medication is that different things work for different people so it might be a bit of trial and error before the doctor and yourself can gauge what best fits. From the sound of things though in your case Citalopram is not the right medicine- though to be honest I don't know anything about it, the side effects or how long it takes to work.

If it was me I would try to make an appointment with the GP on Monday explaining the situation and how the medication is not helping.

All the best

Nechtan

marie1974
03-01-09, 13:43