PDA

View Full Version : What do we eat?

LeeBee
10-01-09, 23:12
I'm currently looking at the role of diet in anxiety and depression. There is much debate on this topic, but it seems clear that a deficiency of certain nutrients (vitamin D, for example) can lead to anxiety and depression. Also, we know that certain symptoms that we all worry about can be caused by dietary factors - such a dizziness from low blood sugar, or more irregular heartbeats because of a lack of potassium or magnesium.

I was wondering how many of us are vegetarians, vegans, meat-eaters or something in between? Also, how many of us avoid certain foods such as sugar/carbs or wheat specifically? How do people feel about cholesterol and fat?

sunshine-lady
10-01-09, 23:28
I am a vegetarian, not through choice, I don't like meat or fish. I used to be a chef and it never bothered me working with meat, lobsters etc. I love vegetables, eggs, pasta etc. I don't particually have a sweat tooth, would rather have cheese and crackers than cakes or chocolate.

freakedout
10-01-09, 23:47
I am a veggie although I eat dairy products and free range eggs occasionally.

My diet is not very good though, I have poor appetite generally and have strange thoughts about food being kind of 'tampered with' or contaminated in some way, and I have some control issues with food too. I frequently start a meal but am unable to finish it. I quite recently had some frightening palpatations, not my usual anxiety palps and when I was checked out I was quite anaemic due to iron deficiency.

My hubby has gallstones and in an attempt to avoid pain and surgery he has really reduced his intake of fat. This leaves us with even less food choices but surely cutting out fatty food has its benefits.

Trapped
11-01-09, 16:11
I am vegitarian since having bad gastritis I had to introduce foods back one by one and couldn't handle meat.
I drink alpro soya light in my tea and dont have coffee,alcohol or caffeinated drinks at all.