PDA

View Full Version : Hello. Any help would be welcome.

S.Ruggle
19-01-09, 01:40
I'm a student, generally stressed out most of the time and suffering some low self-esteem issues.

I haven't been feeling too good for a while now. I'd been "normal", but almost permanently stressed out, unable to relax or slow my mind down. I'm sure that the stress from different parts of my life just got too much for me, and it came to a head when I was walking along my block back home. All of a sudden I was overwhelmed by a feeling of absolute terror and panic, as well as a sense of disorientation, like I wasn't really there. Made it home, tried to relax and five hours later at 3am, strolled to the hospital as I really didn't know what else to do.

Obviously they treated it as a panic attack and calmed me down, and sent me on. But ever since then I haven't been able to shake these occassional waves of panic and unreality. I might go a few days without feeling really rough, but then I'll catch myself feeling good and that will almost destroy all of the progress I've made.

I'm not so sure what caused it, doctors suggested depression but I'm not depressed, I'm a pretty happy and content person. I dunno. I'm kinda just looking for some advice, a bit of help to make myself feel better, and a bit of reassurance. Perhaps it was just the culmination of years of quite intense stress and low self esteem and confidence, but I can't pinpoint it.

I do know it's ruining my life, and I don't know what to do about it. Near constant anxiety, occassional waves of unreality, and a constant worry that I am losing my mind are some of the problems I am struggling to deal with. I am concerned mainly that I am going to feel bad and out of control now, and in the future, and that it's going to ruin my life.