PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and ASD

sheppeyescapee
23-01-09, 10:18
Hi there folks, I really wasn't sure where to place this as it covers many things so I thought general anxiety would be the closest. :shades:

Anyway I am a university student and recently diagnosed with aspergers. I've always been pretty 'highly strung' and am not sure where my problems with anxiety start as a condition of its own rather than as a result of meltdown and sensory overload.

I find it really hard saying no to people so I take on far too many social committments which leave me exhausted and unable to cope. Then I disappear and live the life of a hermit, normally jan-march time (after all the december social committments for xmas/hanukkah).

I notice my anxiety really goes through the roof at times of change such as holidays, exams and such. Dealing with change is really hard for me. :unsure:

I'm still getting a lot of general anxiety and I can't even really pinpoint what is triggering it and what it is all about. Any ideas about not getting into a negative thought spiral, and trying to leave the house without feeling uber stressed? :shrug: I'm not even making it to my lectures any more. :scared10:

J

sheppeyescapee
23-01-09, 11:31
I did see my GP and their only suggestion was this website. They didn't have anything else to say, and I was a lot worse than I am now. Things have been improving slightly since I started taking SJW, I don't feel on the verge of a breakdown now. :laugh: I tend to listen to Sigur Ros when I get over stressed and that helps bring my stress levels down.

I'm waiting to see an occupational therapist to have a sensory profile done, we know that I have extremely hypersensitive hearing already. My GP still doesn't know who can do it though as not many of the local OTs are knowledgeable when it comes to ASD/Dyspraxia.