PDA

View Full Version : Hello :)

~~ironbutterfly25~~
27-01-09, 22:31
Hi Everyone-

I just discovered this web site on my mobile the other night while freaking out on the sofa in the middle of the night!

Just wanted to say what a great web site-brilliant resource thanks so much :)

I guess I'm fairly new to all this (well sort of...)

A few years back (this time of year) I started waking up with palpatations in the middle of the night and got really scared. Although it felt really bad at the time they did seem to clear up quite quickly after I started having counselling.

In the meantime I've had the odd re-occurence of 'panic' feelings (heart beating fast, cold hands and shivering, pins and needles etc) although they were so few and far between that I wasn't concerned..that is until 3 weeks ago...

Just shortly after Christmas I woke up in the middle of the night with severe chest pains, shortness of breath and a thumping heart. It scared the hell out of me but I recognised it as similar to what I've had before (except may be a bit worse). Anyway, since then I've had it everyday. First it was just happening during the night until last week when it started happening during the day at work. A friend of mine took me to A & E to get checked out and they did an ECG, blood pressure and bloods etc. The upshot of the first visit was that my heart was beating faster than it needed to be 'at rest' but all the bloods were fine and doc at the hospital wasn't overly concerned and told me it was most likely anxiety.

The panic continued (and seemed to get worse) as the week went on and on Friday (my day off ..sods law!) I ended up ringing an ambulance and going to hospital again. The doc (a different one this time) said all the same things only this time gave me some Diazapan to 'take the edge off' temporarily and advised that I go for a 24hr BP (ECG) which my local doc would have to fit.