PDA

View Full Version : Help needed - back to work interview

lushkat
03-02-09, 13:24
Hi

On Thursday I have been asked to come into work for a meeting with my line manager and someone from HR to talk about "my health"

I have been off now for 4 weeks and have this week and next before I am due back - all being well.

I do want to go back to work but naturally I am scared, it's the first time I have been off with anxiety in this job (I have suffered with GAD for years and years but have managed to control it well until recently).

I want to make some suggestions to them about the kinds of things that would help me return to work succesfully - can anyone think of things that might help. I work fulltime - 37.5 a hour - at the moment,.

Any help gratefully received!!!!

L x

Smiley?
03-02-09, 14:16
Hope you don't mind me askin but what job do you do? Do you work shifts?

lushkat
03-02-09, 14:20
I am a manager in the NHS - dont work shifts. My manager is a workaholic so expects everyone to work longer than 37.5 hours.

Smiley?
03-02-09, 14:29
Ahhhh! The delightful NHS - me too!!

It's good that you don't work shifts. Can you afford to drop any hours? Maybe down to 30, which would be 4 days a week. Or maybe shorter hours, say, if you struggle in the mornings, start a bit later every day or if by the end of the day you're feeling drained, finish earlier??

Have you seen the occi health department - either referred by manager or self referred? They might have some suggestions.

You can't be expected to share your manager's unrealistic approach to working hours. Is that what forced you off sick in the first place?

You've got to look after yourself because no one else will. I've found that out the hard way whilst working in the NHS.

nervouswreck
03-02-09, 14:31