PDA

View Full Version : Working with panic attacks

sMINT
08-02-09, 15:51
I really want to have a job. To give me something to do & get em out of thsi cycle of waking up and sitting on the computer all day.

Only problem is I suffer form anxiety & panic attacks.

How do you all go about it? Do you work & suffer from them?

feels_like_home
08-02-09, 19:24
I find that work keeps my mind busy which does wonders for my aniety. I have my good days and bad days at work, but I just keep going. I am a teacher and find that the kids are the best distration. You just need to find a job that really interests you so that you are not focused on the anxiety. I do realize that eveyone experiences anxiety differently and I know at my worst I was not able to work much. You have to me in the right mind set. I wish you luck.

Blot
08-02-09, 19:45
:) Hi there, as a recent immigrant to the UK from South Africa I undersatnd that you are frustrated at home. When I was busy working in SA, my focus was on the job so I did not dwell on the disorder as much. I am in the process of looking for job opportunites so I have far too much free time to hand. Not good for the anxiety. My thought is that as soon as I have a job, I will feel alot better!

gofishing
08-02-09, 19:57
When I suffered from PAs, I really wanted to do some labor work, like gardening or farming or construction work. Since I have a regular job (allday at computer in an isolated office), I tried to find a part-time job or something, couldn't find it, but eventually I found some volunteer ourdoor works on the weekend. That really helped me. (at that point, due to lack of energy and motivation, i stopped all excercising except a lot of walks. And the voluntary labor work gave some motivation. By the way, "walks" is really good for PA and depression.)