PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone :)

TerriAnn
18-02-09, 09:43
Hello all,

My name is Terri, I am 28 in May (eek!) and I am a stay at home mum to my two boys Matthew aged 3 in June and Billy who is 23 weeks old at the moment. I have been happily married for five years in July to Darren who is a butcher and I am currently studying from home to be a self employed book keeper. Hopefully on 1 April, I will start advertising and start working for myself. Please understand, I am not saying this to promote my new business or look for clients or anything, I just wanted to stress how wonderful my life looks on paper, the reality is a totally different matter.

I was 15 years old and sitting my Maths GCSE exam when I had my first panic attack and I have struggled ever since, having good days, ok days, bad ones and awful ones.

Where to start? My main problem is a totally consuming and overwhelming sickness phobia, I get extremely anxious when I am in public, especially when eating out - that is such a huge stress for me. I am also terrified by anything medical - blood tests, needles, dentists, doctors, hospitals etc.

I feel like I am living only half a life at the moment and all my anxieties and fears are stopping me from leading the full and happily life that I want to live with my family. My mum is like me with anxieties and panic attacks, her mum was like it and I REFUSE to allow my boys to be like me. Matthew has started going through a phase of being nervous in public and having bad dreams and now is the time to act. I need to kick this for the sake of my boys and my marriage, my husband is my rock and is always there for me, although at times he does get frustrated and being so confident and easy going himself, he can never understand how I feel and how the things that he does so easily are so hard for me to deal with.