PDA

View Full Version : Discontinuation of Cipralex

nicjames
19-07-05, 13:28
Hi. I’m new to this site... in fact I’m new to looking up info and support on the net in relation to anxiety and medication.

I’ve been on Cipralex for 18 months and in the past six months have tried to slowly come off it about four different times but everytime I’ve tried the side effects have been horrible so I’ve started taking it again. I tried going from 10mg a day to 5 mg a day and i was fine. Then i went from taking 5mg for two days and then off one day. That was fine. Then i went to taking 5mg one day and nothing for two days and this is where the side effects start. I’m a flight attendant and i just cant work when i start to feel the side effects. I get nauseas, i get extremely dizzy, like I’m going to pass out, i cant drive cause i feel so off balance, i get the spasms in my neck which are horrible when trying to sleep and especially before a flight, I’m tired, I get pains in my legs.

Anyway because i keep trying to come off it with no success i discussed with my doctor about just stopping it all together and going cold turkey. So with his consent this is what i have done. He said i would probably feel the side effects for a week or two.

Well that was 11 days ago and if i don’t start feeling normal again I’m going to go insane! I’ve been taking Neurobion which is basically just a vitamin B tablet and also 5mg of folic acid a day which my doctor said would help with electric shock and spasm feeling.. which although i am still getting, its not as bad as the other times when I’ve tried to come of it.