PDA

View Full Version : citalopram for depression and SAD

anniecat
23-02-09, 15:25
Hi all

this is rather an embarrassing post for me: I'm a freelance editor and journalist but I've suffered from severe anxiety (social anxiety to be exact) and depression for years. I've had episodes of depression where I've been hospitalised a few years ago, and although I am so much better than I was (I'd never again attempt suicide!), I'm really slipping back to bad habits: basically, I've been involved in a nasty trial which has taken 2 years to get to court, I made the complaint, (I'll say no more than that) but going through court has been horrendous.. on top of that, my job as editor I have to be very confident and attend lots of conferences ... and I just hate it. I feel so ill all the time, spend so much of the time crying, constant churnings and 'butterflies' and because my job is so stressful (I effectively do three peoples job but thats another story) I never feel I can switch off. I have a very supportive partner who doesn't live with me but lives nearby and very supportive families and friends which helps.. but I'm so unhappy in this situation: I want out of my job because I feel its leading me into another breakdown but I dont have much confidence in myself...
and although the trial is finished, I can't stop crying about it, feel so sad.
I've just been to the gp and he has prescribed me citalopram, I've been on nearly every anti depressant in the last five years or so but the past year I stayed off taking any - which I was really proud of, and now I'm back again.
Just hoping this board will be like a support group so we can help each other. I don't want to be a misery guts...!

Advice? And does my post make any kind of sense?!

Thanks all

Me

Bob47
23-02-09, 17:17
Your post makes perfect sense. I have been down a similar route although not in terms of profession choice but I do empathise.