PDA

View Full Version : Driving Panick Attack

sandysan
28-02-09, 21:06
hi all i am new to this, please can anyone help me , i have had a panick attack twice in the car , the feelings i had are my stomcah goes tight then my mind,i think im gonna loose it and do something so terryfying i dont know what. then i get shakey and pancik .

why is this happenenning just out of the blue . i dont feel i can drive again as soon as i get in the car my mind will think its gonna happen again

thanks sandy

minihaha
28-02-09, 21:49
hi sandy, sorry to hear that you are being troubled by panic attacks when driving. Its a terrifying experience knowing that you are trapped in your car and feeling like you can't cope. I have experienced this several times and for a while i even avoided driving on motorways as i just felt that i couldnt trust myself to complete a journey without panicking. I promise you though, you can conquer this fear just dont push yourself too much, but at the same time i wouldnt suggest you stop driving for any length of time as you will lose confidence and it will get harder the longer you leave it.

If it helps at all, i used to say over and over again to myself "i am a confident driver, i will be safe, i will be fine" i always carry some water and some mints with me and some feel good music cd's so i can pop them in and sing along when i feel stressed - this really helps with the breathing.

Do short journeys and dont push yourself too hard. Also if this has just happened out of the blue, then is there any underlying reason for it..? are you a bit tired, or stressed or anxious for any reason - ?

K x

sandysan
28-02-09, 21:58