PDA

View Full Version : Palpitations, please help, newbie here!

gizmoxx
12-03-09, 13:44
Hello everyone
I have just joined this group. I am 29 and have suffered with anxiety since i was 16, my first symptoms were palps! To cut along story short, i often have palps. Sometimes once in a while sometimes all day. Today i am having little palps/feelings in my throat. They are happening every few minutes for the odd beat. How can i stop them? Can anyone give me any advice? I take beta blockers and anti depressents. Just today seems to worse but i dont know why. I dont have any unusual stress. Please help
Sherrie
x

lrforge
12-03-09, 13:55
This is my main concern to. I just started beta blockers, today will be my 3rd day an dI hope they help. They scared me so bad and right now I am waiting for a 24 hr holter results, my echo was normal. I wish I could tell you how to stop them , but I can not get my mind away from them long enough to think of anything else...I don't have any unusual stress either. So you have been having palps since you were 16?

gizmoxx
12-03-09, 14:15
Hi
Yes i have had them on and off since i was 16, i didnt realise they were beacuse of anxiety at first, but i have now had several tests including the 24 tape and it showed just an ectopic beat, nothing at all to worry about. Except all i do is worry! I knwo they wont harm me but i just really hate them. Maybe if i could learn to put up with them id be ok. I am awaiting the start of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy to help me. And i really hope it does. I have been in a terrible state recently.
I also take beta blockers, im on 160mg a day of slow release propanalol. I sill get the palps but i think they do help a little
Let me know how you get on
Sherrie
x

lrforge
12-03-09, 14:31
Thats what they tell me to, my dr says I am ok, they are common, that its anxiety. But yes, thats all I do to, is worry. Let me know how the CBT goes. I am looking into different things now to. How many times a day do you get them?