PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety (relapse) and time management/ getting things done

expecto patronum
12-03-09, 23:38
Hi, I haven't posted on here in ages, I have only just admitted to myself properly that I still have an anxiety problem. Basically I think it's because I have been much worse than this in the past, and so I have been kidding myself into thinking that I'm fine for about the last 18 months. But just recently I have been forced to realise that this is still something that affects my life in a big way, and that I need to do something about it, but I don't know where to go from here. I just find that I get so frustrated with myself, about having anxiety in the first place, and about how it affects my ability to get things done. I just feel that time anxiety is ruling my life at the moment, to the point that I can't enjoy my time off, I get so stressed at work about what I see as my failure to get things done, and I just feel that there's a big ticking clock over my head whenever I'm trying to do something: I've only just got around to posting on here because I haven't 'allowed' myself the time before now. I try not to have an agenda as to what I want to get done in a day, but allowing myself to do nothing isn't the answer as it's not practical. I just can't seem to take a relaxed approach, and it's so frustrating because I know if I could just relax about it, not only would I be able to enjoy my time off, but chances are I'd get more done when I was doing stuff. I understand that it's my expectations that have to change, as I always have unrealistic expectations of what I can acheive and then beat myself up when I can't reach the goals I've set out, but I don't really know where to start. I have a CBT book, the Dummies Guide, but have yet to find time to read enough or do any exercises, how ridiculous is that??!
I couldn't find anything on here about time anxiety, I just wondered if other people have anything similar to this?

pooh
13-03-09, 02:37