PDA

View Full Version : Have I just had a panic attack??

Mondie
16-03-09, 11:59
I have suffered with Health Anxiety since my Dad died of cancer 3 years ago, whilst I feel anxious A LOT I have not had a panic attack before and I think I may have just had one? Either that or I am finally losing the plot...

I've just been to the supermarket and whilst I was walking in I starting to feel shaky (like adrenaline or the start of flu) My throat felt weird and almost felt like I was being strangled. I felt dizzy and had this feeling in my chest like I wanted to scream out loud. I felt like I was underwater and about to faint. I just had to leave my trolley and get out of the shop. Now I'm home I just want to cry and cry. Am I going mad or was this a panic attack of sorts??:weep:

j2
16-03-09, 14:54
While I am no doctor, I would say yes you had/having a panic attack. I get them like yours where I am not doing anything particulary stressful but I get a huge surge of what feels like adrenalilne, I feel like I am dizzy, short of breath and my heart starts pounding. I am not on any meds, but I hear they help with the attacks. I try to take long deep breaths and distract myself with a funny movie or going for a run. Good luck and don't google.

diane07
16-03-09, 15:24
Aww hun,

that always happens to me at the supermarket, its not pleasant at all, and very much sounds like a panic attack, where you okay when you got out the shop?

di xx

Mondie
16-03-09, 15:27
I did feel a bit better once I was out of the shop, but still shaky and sad...am going to go for a walk in the sunshine to try and chill out a bit...This sucks!

diane07
16-03-09, 15:28
aww its awful hun

have a good walk

di xx

sammyj
16-03-09, 18:43
it was most certanly a panic attack, i suffer the whole supermarket anxiety thing as well. i asked the doctor specifically about this and feeling that way in a supermarket is classic.