PDA

View Full Version : My Agoraphobia.

charmed1
16-03-09, 22:25
I guess my conditions have always been a part of me. But it wasn’t until ten years ago after the birth of my child that they were given names and identities. I was at first just diagnosed with post natal depression, I felt crippled by the illness and in fact by life I began to recognise that I was also having panic attacks and felt very inadequate. At this stage I was just managing to leave the house to do day to day essential tasks and because of the depression I don’t think that anyone noticed this becoming less and less.

I have now been diagnosed with Depression, Agoraphobia, Social Phobia, OCD, Post Traumatic stress disorder and of course Panic attacks and Anxiety. It seems like every time I see a new health professional I get a new name for a part of my condition. I think that I have a lot of knowledge and insight into my illnesses but I don’t think that gives me any answers to them. I have tried all different treatments from meds to hypnotherapy and three years ago I decided to go it alone, I stopped my meds and I stopped seeing the Doctors and nurses. I felt the best I had felt in years I even gave up smoking!!! True, I still had trouble going out but with the help of close family members I was once again able to start taking small steps toward a ‘normal’ life.