PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on what meds help with anxiety

KellyT
28-03-09, 11:35
Hi, i am new to this and have been suffering with anxiety for the past 4 years, it is getting worse, it is making me become where i can not go out of my house, is there any medication that can help with this, i have got diazapan for when it is really bad. I just want my life back, this is taking over everything, it all started 4 years ago when i had a panic attack for no reason. Ever since i am scared of so many situations incase i have another one. When i try to explain this to my doctor i think he thinks i am an attention seeker, he is a herbal doctor and only gives real medication in exteme situations and i guess he does not think i am one of those, would really love to hear from anyone in a similar situation or anyone who has come out of the other side.

finny12000
28-03-09, 12:21
Hi kelly
im no expert but 4 years with anxiety and only diazepan is not on.
I Suffered like you quite badly and if you look back on my first posts here you will see what i mean.
I ended up on trazadone after many ssri,s and it taken at night helped me sleep and stopped the worse of any anxiety during day along with anxiety
classes which i harp on about all the time but they were invaluable.

They helped me understand my thought cycle so i could nip the anxiety thoughts immediately before they were full blown ,i was taught distraction techniques ,relaxation and its worth saying to doctor that you want then.

Our illnesses make us think were alone,we live in a anxiety bubble it will never get better but it does kelly and im living proof.

You get back to this herbal guy and tell him what u want and require of him
its his duty to help you and meanwhile theres loads of self help and tips on here and plenty ppl to chat to
Your not alone x

Southern_Belle
28-03-09, 16:51
Hi Kelly,